Quantum Gibbs

Dr. Sam Beckett and Leroy Jethro Gibbs = Old.  Man.  Fine.  I realize it would appear that I have a thing for old dudes, but I don’t (I don’t think…).

You  might be asking yourself, “Self?  Why do I love Quantum Leap and NCIS so much?”  Well, today is your lucky day  because I have the answer to that.  So they were all created by the same man, Donald Bellisario!  Who knew?!  Well, obviously some people.  Anyway, I got sucked into a mini marathon of the Leap the other day and when they played the series finale, I cried like I cried during the last episode of The Wonder Years¹ (if you didn’t cry on that one – you have no soul).  Sad stuff.  Oh, PS  – I love time travel.

Just a couple of nuggets of information…the guy that plays McGee on NCIS is Bellisario’s stepson.  Bellisario was in the military with Lee Harvey Oswold.  Mark Harmon is married to Pam Dawber – who played Mindy from Mork and Mindy and the older sister in My Sister Sam.  And, now, the best nugget…..

Remember the band Nelson, you know – Matthew and Gunnar?  After the Rain? And their flowing hair?  Of course you do.  Well, Mark Harmon is their uncle.  He’s their mom’s brother.  Also, the lady who used to be the Tic Tac girl is his other sister.  So, Mark and Ricky Nelson used to be bros-in-law.  Speaking of Ricky Nelson, “Garden Party” has to be one of the best songs ever.  I’m feeling an in depth internet research project coming up about them.  They haven’t even shown up on a reality drug rehab or wife swap show yet!  Strange.

I really want Mark Harmon to be my parents’ friend.  I mean, clearly, he’s too old for me to be hanging out with.  But, if he’s a family friend, then it’s not weird.

¹  Remember when Ross Geller played Karen’s boyfriend-turned-husband Michael?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Linsley
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 18:57:22

    Say what!?!? Mark Harmon is the Nelson brother’s uncle? Crazytown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

